The Chronicles of Sharen- Part 60

Part 60- Saying goodbye to Sharen

It’s my last week with Sharen. Since A has left (the associate here for only 6 weeks), things have been relatively peaceful. And it seems the struggles of the not so distant past, have become nothing but a bad dream to most of the office. Except for me. I will never forget the past year, and all the crap that has happened here. But besides the small struggle with the pay last week, things have been okay. Sharen even took me out to a farewell lunch. Its funny how someone who always seems so mean can throw this one nice thing in and expect it to make up for everything else that has happened.

I cant help but think, geeze, what was I thinking taking a job here? At the time, it was my best option. Things were not all bad either, I have learned a lot of things. Sharen is a great practitioner and I appreciate her help with getting a lot of new information. But she a terrible manager, especially when it comes to employees. So if nothing else I have learned things that I shouldn’t do when I am running my own practice.

The hardest part of leaving has been saying goodbye to the patients. One of the most difficult things I’ve had to do in my adult life. I have become really attached to many of them, seen babies born, kids graduate, family members die, careers develop and careers fall. I have experienced hundreds and thousands of moments in other people’s lives. Things that they have chosen to share with me, that they may not share with other people. The patients are the only reason that I made it through these last shitty 9 months.

I recognized that someones calf pain was intermittent claudication vs. just normal muscle pain, and he told me that I “saved his life”, I treated a cauda equina disc bulge at L5, nearly the worst type of disc bulge there is, conservatively, and helped the guy to be able to get back to his life without surgery! I have helped so many pregnant women get to term without pain and with easier births, I have helped scoliosis patients life easier, when other practitioners wouldn’t touch them, and I helped people achieve their athletic goals, like running a marathon or a triathlon. I have realized the power in the chiropractic adjustment, the power in truly listening to people, and the power in connecting with people and how those in themselves can each be important tools to getting people better. I have been called a healer, magic hands, and had my hands prayed for by patients.

I told myself when I graduated that I wanted to change the world, change the way the world viewed health care, and do that through helping people’s spines and nervous system. Its easy for us to look at our lives and think, geeze, I’m not really doing anything important or interesting, like so-and -so is. I fall into this often, but looking back at what I wanted to achieve and seeing what I have done so far, I think I am right where I should be. There are so many small stories like these above, which make my heart swell with love and pride and gratitude when I think about them again, that make me proud to call myself a chiropractor.

Everything in life changes. And I don’t want to end up being one of those people that stayed in an unhappy stressful situation, just because it is stable and comfortable. I want to be one of those people that can look back at their life and think, I made mistakes, I made the wrong decisions, I made good decisions too, I kept learning, I never gave up on my dreams, and I wasn’t afraid to change when I knew something was wrong, I lived a full life.

I know that I am leaving here, having made a difference in a lot of peoples lives. That I have made my presence known in the community, that I have stimulated people to think differently about their bodies and about healthcare. And despite all the crap with Sharen, that is enough for me.

Cheers to a new adventure….

Leave a Reply

