The Chronicles of Sharen- Part 59

Part 59- when your boss doesn’t abide by employment laws

Employment laws here state that every employee is entitled to get paid for holidays that have not been taken during the year. Apparently it gets recorded on your termination of employment form when you leave.

Leave it to Sharen to be the person that doesn’t want to abide with the law. Or at least thinks she is above the law. I have 9 holidays that I am entitled to be paid for, since I never take sick days, and I rarely take holidays. Back to those 9 days… Sharen came up to me today and said that she didn’t think that she should pay for those since I “owe” her money still for courses that she told me to take if I wanted to work with her.

So basically she doesn’t want to pay something she is legally required to as an employer. And then does what she can to blame me for it. If only I would have worked harder to get more patients I would have already paid her back for the courses, says Sharen.

I was finally able to stand up for myself and stand up to Sharen, and told her that if I was entitled to something legally then she is to pay it. And that I don’t owe her anything as I get paid peanuts for doing a lot of work and long days, and six months ago we already agreed that I had paid her off. So why is she bringing it up again now? Just to try and get out of doing something? To manipulate the situation and make me feel like I haven’t done enough?? To somehow make herself feel better? I don’t understand it. The amount of money I brought in because of the number of patients I saw, I paid off the courses almost 2 x already. Why cant she accept that? Even when faced with the numbers themselves, she still has the belief that I owe her something. And I don’t like being in that position at all. That was one of the biggest reasons why I decided to leave, being nearly blackmailed by someone who told me that they would support me, horrible feeling.

All that matters is that we were able to come to an agreement. In the end she suggested I take 4 days off and then she would pay me the rest of the days in the form of an extra weeks pay. I just want to get out of here as quickly as I can and with as little struggle as possible.  Not sure that will happen, but we will see.

Leave a Reply

