The Chronicles of Sharen- Part 58

Part 58- another new employee

Just a few weeks left for me here. The reality that I am actually going to get out of this toxic situation is finally setting in.

Sharen has been in a bit of a panic the last month or so. Because she hasn’t been able to find a replacement for me. A, the employee that quit, was supposed to be just that. She has interviewed a few people, but no one has wanted to take her offer.

Luckily for her, this week she interviewed and hired someone in the space of two days. Maybe it was out of desperation, or maybe its really because she thinks he will be a good addition to the team. I don’t know. And at this point I don’t really care. I do care that my patients will be taken care of, and that makes it hard for me to advise them to stay here at the clinic, because I know the true character of Sharen, and that deep down she has lost sight of the reason we do what we do, to help people. But there is not much that I can do.

So the new employee, S, seems nice, from the area, little bit of experience, and very naive. I cant help but thinking how he will change in the course of a year or two with Sharen. Right now he is all wide-eyed with admiration for her and her accomplishments, but he doesn’t know her like I do. I see myself, on my first days, in him, and think about how much I have changed and the things that I have seen in the past 3 years.

I feel sorry for him, but there is no way that I can tell him not to work there or what is coming for him. He needs to experience it on his own, and will likely, like all the other associates, be gone in less than 3 years.

Leave a Reply

